Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

The first Mass in Prince Rupert  was celebrated on April 6, 1908 in the Annex of the Grand Trunk Pacific Inn with 13 people in attendance.   On April 8th, 1908, Fr. Emile Marie Bunoz, OMI was named first Prefect Apostolic of the Yukon and Prince Rupert.  On Sunday June 28th, 1908  a tent chapel was blessed by Fr. Bunoz for the 25 people who attended.  It was erected on A-Avenue on the present site of the Rupert Square parking lot. 

 On March 6, 1910 the first church building was officially opened and dedicated as a pro-cathedral.  That summer Prime Minister Sir Wilfred Laurier and his wife attended Mass and donated $500.00 for a statue of the Virgin Mary.  In 1913, an annex was added at the back for a new altar area, sacristy and breezeway to the rectory.  In 1914 a larger steeple tower and cross were added. 

3 Bishops were installed at Annunciation Cathedral: Bishop Bunoz  in 1917,  Bishop Anthony Jordan in 1945 and Bishop Fergus O'Grady in 1956.   In 1952 Lawrence Turgeon was the first and only priest to be ordained at Annunciation church.  in 1968, the seat of the diocese was moved to Prince George.  

A new rectory was built in 1991. The funeral Mass of Andrew ( Joe ) Letourneau on February 10, 1992 was the last celebration in the original Church.  The church and rectory were demolished the following day.  Sunday Masses were held in the Parish Hall while weekday Masses were held in the rectory.  Construction of the new church began on July 18th.